RSO


Course Title:

Radiation Safety Officer (RSO)

Course duration:

40 hours of instruction

Price:

$1995

Course Summary:

Through lectures, hands-on laboratory exercises, and extensive reference materials, this course will give you the technical information and practical experience necessary to ensure that you are well prepared to serve as an RSO and will meet the requirements of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Agreement States, and the U.S. Department of Transportation.

Upcoming Courses

Start End Location Registration
Mon, Feb 8 Fri, Feb 12 Las Vegas, NV Wait List
Mon, Feb 29 Fri, Mar 4 Gaithersburg, MD Register Now
Mon, Apr 11 Fri, Apr 15 Las Vegas, NV Register Now
Mon, May 9 Fri, May 13 Gaithersburg, MD Register Now
Mon, Jun 6 Fri, Jun 10 Las Vegas, NV Register Now
Mon, Jul 11 Fri, Jul 15 Gaithersburg, MD Register Now
Mon, Aug 8 Fri, Aug 12 Las Vegas, NV Register Now
Mon, Sep 12 Fri, Sep 16 Gaithersburg, MD Register Now
Mon, Oct 17 Fri, Oct 21 Las Vegas, NV Register Now
Mon, Nov 7 Fri, Nov 11 Gaithersburg, MD Register Now
Mon, Dec 5 Fri, Dec 9 Las Vegas, NV Register Now

Description

Updated course content and electives!

Note: If you work at a hospital or medical facility, consider attending our Medical Radiation Safety Officer course.


We have offered this training for over 20 years to qualify you as a Radiation Safety Officer.  We provide the technical information and practical experience to ensure that you are well prepared to serve as an RSO. Instructors specialize in training for research, medical, biomedical, and educational programs, as well as for programs using sealed sources in irradiators, measurement devices, and gauges. 

Through lectures, hands-on laboratory exercises, and extensive reference materials, this course will give you the technical information and practical experience necessary to ensure that you are well prepared to serve as an RSO and will meet the requirements of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Agreement States, and the U.S. Department of Transportation.

During the week, students must complete 32 hours of instruction in the following required subjects: radiation fundamentals, health risks, regulations, licensing, enforcement, dosimetry, instruments, statistics, quality assurance, DOT shipment and receipt of radioactive materials, program management, record keeping, emergency response, and preparing for inspections. Students must also complete 8 hours or more of instruction from the 23½ hours of elective subjects as shown on the Agenda.

Did You Know?

This is our 23rd year offering RSO training! Join the more than 2,500 RSOs who have graduated from our Academy with rave reviews!


Audience

Those seeking qualification as a Radiation Safety Officer.