News and ideas from Dade Moeller, an NV5 Company.

WSU Students Get a Behind-the-Scenes Look at Science in the Real-World Workplace

March 21, 2015

It's one thing to listen to a science lecture in a university classroom, wondering what your future degree will mean in terms of a career . . . but it's another story to actually visit a local science-based company, meet the scientists, learn about their day-to-day jobs, and get hands-on experience with their high-tech tools.

It was for this reason that we were so excited to host a small -- but mighty -- group of science students from Washington State University Tri-Cities on ...

Read More  


"The 1976 Hanford Americium Accident, Then and Now"

Aug. 20, 2014

2014 Health Physics Society Lecture

At the 59th Health Physics Society Annual Meeting in Baltimore, Md., Dade Moeller Senior Health Physicist Eugene ("Gene") Carbaugh presented a Continuing Education Lecture titled "The 1976 Hanford Americium Accident -- Then and Now."

The slides from Gene's Health Physics Society lecture (July 14, 2014) are available at this link: "The 1976 Hanford Americium Accident Then and Now" (40 page PDF, 1 MB).

2014 REAC/TS Presentation

On August 21, 2014, Gene has been invited ...

Read More  


59th Annual Meeting of the Health Physics Society

July 8, 2014

Fourteen of our health physicists will convene at the convention center in Baltimore, Md., from July 13–17 to share technical expertise and promote the future of radiation safety at the 59th Annual Meeting of the Health Physics Society.

Dade Moeller experts will present five technical sessions, four employees will serve in leadership positions, and the company will jointly sponsor the welcome reception. Additionally, the Society will honor the company’s namesake and leader in the field of health physics ...

Read More  


Gene Carbaugh Chairs DOELAP Oversight Board

Dec. 4, 2013

Senior Health Physicist Eugene (Gene) H. Carbaugh has been elected to a three-year term as Chairman of the U.S. Department of Energy Laboratory Accreditation Program (DOELAP) Radiobioassay Oversight Board. Gene has served as a member of the Oversight Board for 12 years.

Radiobioassay is the measurement of radioactivity in the human body.

DOELAP administers accreditation of DOE sites for direct radiobioassay measurements, such as whole body counts and lung counts, and indirect measurements, such as radiochemical analysis of urine ...

Read More  


2013-2014 Dade W. Moeller Scholarship Winners!

Sept. 24, 2013

Health Physics Society LogoWe are happy to share the Health Physics Society’s announcement of the recipients of its 2013-2014 Dade W. Moeller Scholarship for studies in health physics.

The Health Physics Society awarded Dade W. Moeller Scholarships to John Brogan and Jessica Gillis, both of whom are Health Physics graduate students at Colorado State University in Fort Collins, Colo.

The Society also awarded the Dade W. Moeller Scholarship memorializing Kelly Austin to Trang Marquez, who is pursuing her Master’s Degree in ...

Read More  


Matt Moeller Appointed to IIT Health Physics Academic Advisory Board

Aug. 28, 2013

We are pleased to announce that our CEO, Matt Moeller, has accepted an appointment to the Academic Advisory Board of the Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT) Professional Science Master's Program for Health Physics.

Matt will represent the private industry's perspective on the board, which is tasked with ensuring the overall quality of the graduate program. He will provide input and assistance to the director of the Master's program, Shih-Yew (S.Y.) Chen, Ph.D., CHP, at annual ...

Read More  


Dr. Darrell Fisher Joins Dade Moeller

July 31, 2013

We are happy to announce that Dr. Darrell R. Fisher has joined the firm as a principal medical dosimetrist.

Dr. Fisher comes to Dade Moeller from a nearly 35-year career at the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL), where he led the Isotope Sciences Program, a national nuclear technology resource. He has a doctorate in nuclear engineering sciences and is the current president of the national Health Physics Society as well as a fellow of the organization.

"We are truly fortunate ...

Read More  


Wayne Glines Named HPS Fellow

July 9, 2013

Senior Health Physicist Wayne Glines has been named to the 2013 Fellow Class of the Health Physics Society. He will receive the award tonight at the Health Physics Society’s Annual Meeting Awards Ceremony at the Monona Terrace Convention Center in Madison, Wisconsin.

The Health Physics Society Fellow Award recognizes senior members of the Society who have made significant contributions to the profession of health physics.

Wayne is a Certified Health Physicist providing leadership and support for our business operations ...

Read More  


Health Physics Society Annual Meeting: Advancing the Field of Radiation Safety

July 8, 2013

Thirteen of our health physicists have convened at the Monona Terrace Convention Center in Madison, Wis., this week to share technical expertise and promote the future of radiation science at the 58th Annual Meeting of the Health Physics Society.

Our experts contributed to five technical sessions, one employee will be honored as a new Fellow of the Society, and four employees will serve as leaders of board and committee meetings. Additionally, the Society will honor our namesake and leader in ...

Read More  


ANSI/HPS N13.12-2013 Revised!

July 3, 2013

(Right) Tracy Ikenberry, Chair of the Health Physics Society's Accredited Standards Committee N13, Radiation Protection, presents a plaque of appreciation to Bill Kennedy (Left) for his service as Chair of the working group that prepared a major revision to the American National Standard ANSI/HPS N13.12-2013, Surface and Volume Radioactivity Standards for Clearance.

Bill has been chair of the N13.12 working group since 1992 and also was responsible for overseeing completion of the first N13.12 standard ...

Read More